Located near Saint-Jean Gate in the very heart of Old Québec, Artillery Park
bears witness to the importance that military presence had in forming the
character of the city. The French built various fortifications in the 17th
and 18th centuries, a fact that underscores the importance of the site in
the history of the city.
Around 1750, the site was used for military barracks. The British Royal
Artillery Regiment set up its quarters in the area. A cartridge factory was
established in 1879 to manufacture ammunition for the Canadian Army, an
activity that continued until the factory was closed in 1964. Like the
Citadelle, Artillery Park is a national historic site.
2, rue d’Auteuil
The Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada, located on the north
bank of Rivière Saint-Charles, commemorates the period in 1535 and 1536 when
Jacques Cartier and his shipmates first wintered near the village that would
become Québec City. It also bears witness to the arrival of the Jesuits in
Various activities serve as a reminder of the encounter between the European
and Amerindian cultures. An exhibit on Cartier’s voyages, the reconstruction
of a longhouse (the traditional Iroquois dwelling) and a vegetable garden,
as well as a model of a merchant ship lead the visitor back to the very
beginnings of the colony. In addition, the site is ideal for sports and
outdoor activities all year round.
175, rue de l'Espinay
The Center seeks to instill a greater understanding and appreciation of urban
life in Québec City. Besides its permanent exhibit, Québec
ville nouvelle, the center offers a number of activities to raise
public awareness of various urban realities: temporary thematic exhibits,
discovery circuits, and educational programs.
The interpretation center is housed in Maison Chevalier. Built in 1752, the
building represents a fine example of urban architecture in New France.
50, rue du Marché-Champlain
This interpretation center offers visitors an overview of the park’s many
natural and cultural riches.
Fossils, minerals, insects, and historic images invite the visitor to discover
different facets of these unique surroundings.
14, rue Saint-Amand
To enter this magnificent presbytery that dates from 1698 is to relive
Saint-Foy’s three hundred years of history, from the humble beginnings of
the parish to the creation of the new Québec City. The interactive exhibit
leads you through the city’s evolution thanks to accounts by its residents
as well as documents recounting the history of the Québec Bridge, the battle
of Sainte-Foy, and other milestones in its development. The history
interpretation center provides a wonderful opportunity to discover every
feature of the city: its history and the customs of its builders, the
development of its land (rural to urban), and the workings of municipal
L’entrée est libre.
2825, chemin Sainte-Foy
Phone : 418 654-4576
Located southeast of the Trait-Carré,
Éphraïm-Bédard House was built around 1828 using the log
construction method. The structure is a typical example of an
average farmhouse of the time. Restoration work has uncovered
evidence of different modifications the house has undergone,
notably the addition of overhangs and dormers and replacement of
the summer kitchen by a shed.
7655, chemin Samuel
Québec City is the only remaining fortified city in North America.
Built under the French and English regimes to protect the city, the imposing
walls exemplify the development of defensive systems in use from the 17th to
the 19th centuries. The ramparts, declared a historic monument in 1957, have
become a national historic site. They surround the city over a distance of 4
to 6 kilometers. A trail with interpretation panels makes it possible for
visitors to walk atop the walls and gates.
100, rue Saint-Louis
Visitors cannot walk by François-Xavier Garneau House without noticing the
distinctive features of this old 19th century bourgeois residence. Among
other things, visitors can view rich private collections that reflect the
intellectual activity of an era that was profoundly influenced by this
14, rue Saint-Flavien
This economuseum, recreating the workshop of a true craftsman, leads the
visitor through the various stages of fur processing, from pelts to coats.
Kinds of animals and hunting methods, the Canadian fur industry, and the
uses of furs over the ages are but a few of the subjects whose myriad
secrets are revealed here. In our boutique, visitors can admire unique
creations and purchase fur clothing and accessories.
Richard Robitaille, fourrures
329, rue Saint-Paul
Set up in a former patient care unit, this permanent exhibit features objects
and archives which testify to the daily life of patients and the institution
since 1845. Occupying fifteen rooms, the historic gallery presents a unique
and original collection belonging to the first psychiatric hospital in
Québec Province. Appointments are required and can be made by calling
Centre hospitalier Robert-Giffard
2601, chemin de la Canardière
Girardin House exemplifies the beauties of Beauport’s historic district. Built
in 1675, the house contains furniture and a large number of objects that
bear witness to the way of life of New France’s first inhabitants. Visiting
the Girardin House takes you to the heart of the area’s heritage and
The grounds can also be used for festivals and various special events.
600, avenue Royale
This charming building that reflects the romantic spirit of the 19th century,
allows visitors to admire an historical home built around 1857 and discover
a center for the promotion of culture that is unique to Québec City.
Recognized for its high quality exhibits and cultural activities, the House
also occasionally features scientific topics. Hamel-Bruneau House is a
charming site conducive to interaction, creativity, and reflection.
2608, chemin Saint-Louis
Built in the English cottage style, this house dates from 1849. In accordance with the preferences of the times, the landscaping is as impressive as the residence itself. A visit to the rose garden is an absolute must.
82, Grande Allée Ouest
Léon-Provancher House is an interpretation center for natural and historic
environments. It recalls the life and work of priest and naturalist Léon
Provancher, who lived here from 1870 until his death in 1892.
1435, rue Provancher
The typical Québec-style house appeared in the early 19th century. A raised
central portion, the symmetric distribution of doors and windows, porches,
and the gradual slope of the roof are among its distinctive features.
Magella-Paradis House, built in 1833, is a fine example of this
7970, rue Trait-Carré Est
Phone : 418 623-1877
Built in the first third of the 18th century, Maison des Jésuites de Sillery was leased to British merchants at the end of the Seven Years War (1756–1763). In 1929 the home was classified a historic monument. Managed and developed by the Borough of Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge, it houses a collection of hundreds of archeological and ethnological objects of aboriginal, French, and English origin. It also features a permanent exhibition, Mission en Nouvelle-France, that tells the story of the arrival of Jesuit missionaries, the ways of life of the aboriginals, and the upheaval brought on by their encounter with Europeans.
2320, chemin du Foulon
Located in the heart of Old Québec, Le Monastère des Augustines occupies the historic wings of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery (1639), which was the birthplace of the first hospital on the continent north of Mexico. Sensitively restored and redesigned, the Monastère offers a unique wellness experience and many imaginative ways to connect with the Augustinian Sisters' remarkable heritage – including a museum.
Tracing the evolution of the spiritual and social engagement of the Augustinian Sisters of Quebec through the ages, the permanent exhibition "Augustinian Sisters: Healing Body and Soul" offers a unique glimpse into the past. Discover the community's way of life, their work caring for the sick, and how they balanced their traditional vocations for action and contemplation. Throughout the rooms, you will find selected objects from the 40,000 artifacts drawn from the Augustinian Sisters' 12 monastery hospitals.
77, rue des Remparts ou 32, rue Charlevoix
Phone : 1 844-694-1639 (sans frais)
Housing the Québec City English-speaking community’s cultural center, this
historic site features many vestiges of a highly colorful past. Guided tours
take visitors through the dark cells of Québec City’s common jail
(1813–1868), the Morrin College lecture room and scientific laboratory
(1868–1900), as well as the library of the Literary and Historical Society
of Québec (1824 to the present).
44, chaussée des Écossais
Built by the Jesuits around 1740, this water mill is located to
the east of the Charlesbourg district. Traditional in
appearance, the mill measures 10 by 18 meters and comprises two
levels, each with attic space, as well as two chimneys. The mill
is city-owned property and has been open to the public since
1991. It offers various cultural and artistic activities.
7960, boulevard Henri-Bourassa
Occupying a magnificent building dating back to 1878, Musée
Bon-Pasteur tells the fascinating story of the first religious
community founded in Québec City, the Sisters of the Good Shepherd, whose
mission was to help women in difficulty and abandoned children. In an
elegant setting adorned with art work and period furniture, educational
activities and sometimes moving experiences round out a visit to this unique
14, rue Couillard
Phone : 418 694-0243
Considered to be the only museum of its kind in Québec Province,
Musée de géologie René-Bureau displays more than 40,000 rock,
mineral, and fossil specimens in 35 different wall cases that can be viewed
at any time. In a single visit, you can discover the geological heritage of
the whole world. Intended primarily for university teaching, the museum is
also open to the general public and school groups, with guided tours
available on request.
Université Laval, Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot, 4e étage
A tour within the Francophonie of Americas! Located one the Séminaire de Québec site created in 1806, this museum is considered as being Canada’s oldest. It is basically a museum that reflects both the contemporary and the historical dynamism of French culture in North America.
2, côte de la Fabrique
The chapel in Musée de l’Amérique francophone was built in 1750, then rebuilt after it burned down in 1888. The interior, in Second Empire style, is based on Église de la Trinité in Paris and houses one of the country’s largest collections of sacred relics. It was deconsecrated in 1992. In its day the chapel was a gathering place for priests, seminarians, professors, students of the minor seminary, and Université Laval students. Today it remains a special place for visitors to explore and has its own spirit and story.
2, côte de la Fabrique
Inaugurated in 1988, Musée de la civilisation is a
modern state-run museum located in Québec City near the
Place Royale historic site. Known as one of the most popular museums
in Canada, it is distinguished from others by its innovative and bold
museology dealing with current, historical, esoteric, or even controversial
subjects. Its thematic programming using the latest interactive technologies
and multimedia projections invites the visitor to discover and explore
through interactive workshops and some ten exhibits, two of which are
permanent: This is our Story. First Nations and Inuit in the 21st Century. and People of
Québec… Then and Now. Musée de la civilisation
appeals to all the senses and to hearts and minds of all ages.
85, rue Dalhousie
This museum tells visitors about Place-Royale, one of North America’s oldest quarters. Multimedia presentation, exhibits displaying rich collections, guided visits, cultural and educational activities introduce you to the area’s 400 years history.
27, rue Notre-Dame
The one-of-a-kind Musée du Fort is a good starting
point for any guided tour of the city. Its original sound and light
reenactment—recounting the rich civil and military history of Québec City
from the time of its founding—takes place on a vast 36 square meter model of
the city as it was around 1750. Visitors will better understand how Québec
City earned its reputation as an impregnable site.
10, rue Sainte-Anne
Québec City’s general hospital was founded in 1693. Its monastery and vaulted
cellars date back to 1695. The hospital houses a museum featuring a rich
collection of invaluable treasures from the 17th and 18th centuries
including sculptures by the artist Levasseur. It also features a permanent
exhibit of ethnological and art works as well as familiar and medical
objects recounting the history of the hospital, the first in North America
north of Mexico. Furniture, paintings, tins, coppers, gold and silver art,
waxes, embroidery, household objects, and more have been gathered over a
period of three and a half centuries.
260, boulevard Langelier
Phone : 418 529-0931
Inaugurated in 1933, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
has become the living memory of art and artists of Québec Province. It
features more than 30,000 works and art objects from the 17th century to the
present day. In all, the national museum collection preserves vestiges of
the activities of some 3,000 artists and craftsmen—the largest and most
complete art collection of the province, from its beginnings to the present
179 Grande Allée Ouest
The Naval Museum of Québec relates the military history of the St. Lawrence
River and the Canadian Naval Reserve in an unusual way through historic
accounts and little-known stories. Visitors will marvel at the large
collection of unusual objects and photos allowing them to learn about the
traditions of the Canadian Navy and the naval history of the river, and
better understand the lives of sailors then and now.
170, rue Dalhousie
O’Neill House, a typical example of Québec architecture, is located near
walkways in the Parc des Saules. Visitors can see a
permanent historical exhibit recounting the arrival of the O’Neills, an
immigrant family, in the mid-19th century. During the summer season, various
shows are presented at its outdoor kiosk.
3160, boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel
Pierre-Lefebvre House, built in 1824 on land belonging to one of the first
inhabitants of the Trait-Carré, shows the first signs of adapting the
country house to Québec climatic conditions.
7985, Trait-Carré Est
Phone : 418 623-1877
The Plains of Abraham Museum is the Park’s Information and Reception Centre. It houses a souvenir shop and diverse exhibitions. My Mobile Plains app is also available for free.
Through the original and sometimes poignant accounts of French, British, Canadian, and Amerindian protagonists of the period as well as an incredible immersive projection, you can experience the siege of Québec and the 1759 and 1760 battles of the Plains of Abraham with authenticity, as if you were there.
835, avenue Wilfrid-Laurier
Since 1984, the stained glass craftsmen have opened the doors of their
workshop in the Old Limoilou district. These dedicated and passionate
workers tell the story of stained glass over the ages while visitors watch
craftsmen ply their trade before their eyes. At the economuseum, visitors
interested in learning this art can find all the tools they need for
designing and making their own pieces.
1017, 3e Avenue
The story of Tessier-Dit-Laplante House goes back to 1867. After belonging to
the Hall-Peterson family, the residence was acquired in 1874 by
François-Xavier Laplante, also known as Isaï Tessier. A stone building of
neoclassical inspiration, it now houses a cultural center and an
interpretation center dedicated to the seigniorial system.
2328, avenue Royale
Built atop Cap Diamant, the Citadelle is the largest fortification built in
Canada during the English regime. Begun in 1820, the outer walls were built
in the form of a polygon with four angles, a distinctive trait of the French
engineer Vauban. The Royal 22e Regiment Museum, founded in 1950, maintains a
collection of historic documents, cannons, and portable weapons as well as
collections of insignias, medals, and uniforms.
Côte de la Citadelle
This splendid museum in Old Québec illustrates the life and the teaching
mission of the Ursuline Sisters from their arrival in Québec City in 1639,
and explains the religious and social history of the city. The permanent
exhibit showcases one of the richest ethnographic and artistic collections
in North America and develops four themes starting with the arrival of the
Ursuline Sisters in 1639 and the religious context of that time, including
their artistic activity as seen through a wide variety of art works.
12, rue Donnacona
Phone : 418 694-0694
A visit to Villa Bagatelle is a journey back in time to
the 19th century, when wealthy Québec V.I.P.s were making their homes on the
cliff at Sillery and installing magnificent English-style gardens. The
choice of rare plants and undergrowth highlight the potential of indigenous
plants. Various thematic exhibits will captivate visitors. Villa Bagatelle:
a happy blend of nature and culture, an exciting learning experience!
1563, chemin Saint-Louis
For more information on tourist attractions in Québec City and
its surrounding areas, visit the
Québec City Tourism website.