Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Patrimoine

Home > Découvrir Québec > Saint-Jean-Baptiste > Virtual tours

Saint-Jean-Baptiste - Virtual tours

Explore these little-known of inaccessible hidden treasures of Québec City.

Saint-Jean-Baptiste: List of virtual tours

National Assembly, Red Hall

National Assembly, Red Hall

The colour red became associated with the upper houses of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth in the 16th century. Widely known as the “Salon rouge” or Red Hall, the Legislative Council Chamber (the equivalent of Canada’s Senate) is no exception. The council was abolished in 1968, and today this room is used by parliamentary committees and for official activities.

Point of interest: Parliament, at the heart of the city’s political heritage

National Assembly Library

National Assembly Library

The Library of the National Assembly occupies the whole of the Pamphile–Le May building, which was built from 1912 to 1915 and named after the library’s first director. Open to all, the library contains vast collections for use by MNAs as well as old and rare books considered to be national treasures.

Point of interest: Parliament, at the heart of the city’s political heritage

Assemblée nationale, Hall du 1er étage

National Assembly, Second Floor Hall

This hall occupies the space between the National Assembly Chamber and the Legislative Council Chamber. It features the names and coats of arms of important individuals as well as the coats of arms of members under the English regime, to which the hall is dedicated. The French regime is not forgotten, though, and fleurs-de-lis represent the French monarchy. Papyrus leaves between the alcoves are a reminder of how important the written word has been to the institution.

Point of interest: Parliament, at the heart of the city’s political heritage

Assemblée nationale, Salon bleu

National Assembly, Blue Hall

The “Salon bleu” or Blue Hall was once green and is the name commonly used for the chamber where MNAs have met since April 8, 1886. The walls were painted blue when televised debates began in 1978.

Point of interest: Parliament, at the heart of the city’s political heritage

Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Saint-Jean-Baptiste Church

Saint-Jean-Baptiste Church is a historical monument of extraordinary beauty, featuring a lush, ornamental polychrome interior. It is also home to a number of heritage treasures, including the Déry-Casavant organ, classified as a Québec cultural property, not to mention the marble pulpit, high altar, altarpiece, and the stained-glass windows.

Point of interest: Saint-Jean-Baptiste Church

Martello Tower No. 4, 1st floor

Martello Tower No. 4, 1st floor

Built between 1808 and 1812, this tower was once part of the city’s advanced defences. Its masonry walls were thicker on the side exposed to attacks than on the side facing the city. A central pier meant that a heavy cannon could be installed on the terrace at the top. A dozen men lived inside, below the powder magazine.

Point of interest: Martello Tower No. 4

Martello Tower No. 4, 2nd floor

Martello Tower No. 4, 2nd floor

This tower’s upper terrace was covered with a roof 11 years after it was built to protect the soldiers, artillery, and masonry walls from the Québec climate. The roof was, however, lower than the current one. The pierced parapet surrounding the terrace made it easier to see and fire at enemies.

Point of interest: Martello Tower No. 4

« Back to Saint-Jean-Baptiste neighborhood

Partagez cette page :

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.

Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Patrimoine

Accueil > Culture et patrimoine > Patrimoine > Interprétation > Découvrir Québec > Saint-Jean-Baptiste > Visites virtuelles

Saint-Jean-Baptiste - Visites virtuelles

Explorez ces lieux peu connus ou inaccessibles qui sont autant de trésors cachés de Québec.

Liste des visites virtuelles de Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Assemblée nationale, Salon rouge

Assemblée nationale, Salon rouge

La couleur rouge est devenue emblématique des Chambres hautes du Royaume-Uni au 16e siècle, puis du Commonwealth. La salle du Conseil législatif (l’équivalent du Sénat au Canada), communément appelée « Salon rouge », n’y fait pas exception. Le Conseil ayant été aboli en 1968, cette salle est aujourd’hui occupée par les commissions parlementaires et plusieurs activités protocolaires.

Point d'intérêt : Parlement de la province de Québec

Assemblée nationale, la Bibliothèque

Assemblée nationale, la Bibliothèque

La Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale occupe tout l’édifice Pamphile-Le May, construit de 1912 à 1915 et nommé en l’honneur du premier directeur de l’institution. Ouverte à tous, la Bibliothèque contient de riches collections répondant aux besoins des parlementaires ainsi que des livres rares et anciens considérés comme des trésors nationaux.

Point d'intérêt : Parlement de la province de Québec

Assemblée nationale, Hall du 1er étage

Assemblée nationale, Hall du 1er étage

Ce hall se trouve entre la salle de l'Assemblée nationale et la salle du Conseil législatif. On y voit les noms et les armoiries de personnages marquants, ainsi que les blasons de parlementaires actifs sous le Régime anglais, auquel ce hall est dédié. L'équilibre avec la Régime français est assuré par les fleurs de lys représentant la France monarchique. Les feuilles de papyrus apposées entre les niches rappellent l'importance des écrits dans cette institution.

Point d'intérêt : Parlement de la province de Québec

Assemblée nationale, Salon bleu

Assemblée nationale, Salon bleu

Le « Salon bleu », anciennement de couleur verte, est l'appellation familière de la salle de l'Assemblée nationale où siègent les députés du Québec depuis le 8 avril 1886. Les murs ont été repeints de cette couleur en 1978 pour faciliter la télédiffusion des débats.

Point d'intérêt : Parlement de la province de Québec

Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Monument historique d'une grande beauté, l'église Saint-Jean-Baptiste se distingue par son riche décor polychrome très ornementé. Elle abrite plusieurs joyaux du patrimoine, entrte autres l'orgue Déry-Casavant, classé bien culturel du Québec, la chaire en marbre, le maître-autel, le retable et les vitraux.

Point d'intérêt : Église de Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Tour Martello no 4, 1er étage

Tour Martello no 4, 1er étage

Construite entre 1808 et 1812, cette tour faisait partie des défenses avancées de Québec. Ses murs de maçonnerie sont plus épais du côté exposé aux attaques que du côté de la ville. Son pilier central supportait un lourd canon installé au sommet, sur la terrasse. Une douzaine d'hommes l'habitaient.

Point d'intérêt : Tour Martello no 4

Tour Martello no 4, 2e étage

Tour Martello no 4, 2e étage

La terrasse supérieure de cette tour a été recouverte d'un toit 11 ans après sa construction pour protéger soldats, pièces d'artillerie et murs en maçonnerie des rigueurs du climat québécois. Le toit actuel est plus élevé que d'origine. Le parapet percé qui entoure la terrasse facilitait le tir sur l'ennemi.

Point d'intérêt : Tour Martello no 4

« Retourner au quartier Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Partagez cette page :

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.