Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Patrimoine

Home > Découvrir Québec > Old Quebec > Points of interest > The UNESCO monument

The UNESCO monument

Old Québec as World Heritage Site

This monument commemorates the inscription in 1985 of the Historic District of Old Québec on UNESCO’s prestigious list of World Heritage sites. Québec was the first city in North America to earn the distinction, the culmination of a series of efforts dating back to the 19th century to protect and present the district. Contrary to popular belief, it was not just the fortifications that qualified Québec City for World Heritage status.

International recognition

On December 3, 1985, the World Heritage Committee of the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organisation (UNESCO) voted to inscribe Old Québec on its list of World Heritage sites. The list inventories the world’s cultural and natural treasures having outstanding universal value. In 2012 only 240 cities around the world shared this distinction.

Built and historical heritage

Two main criteria were applied to Québec City—its built heritage and its historical heritage. The first concerned the coherence and remarkable degree of preservation of the city’s built heritage. With its French, then British architecture, and its practically intact fortifications, Old Québec is the best preserved and most complete example of a fortified colonial town north of Mexico.

The second criterion has to do with Québec’s history and culture. UNESCO has recognized Québec as the cradle of French civilization in North America and as illustrating one of the major stages in the European settlement of the colonization of the Americas by Europeans.  

Not a new project

The first project to preserve and present Old Québec goes back to the second half of the 19th century. Québec was already drawing tourists when Lord Dufferin, appointed governor general of Canada in 1872, halted demolition of the fortifications. As soon as he laid eyes on them, he knew Québec would not be the same without them. He had the foresight to put forward a plan to embellish the fortifications that would also improve urban traffic flow, an equally important consideration for municipal authorities.

During the same period, a number of other projects were undertaken to enhance Old Québec’s appeal and heritage, such as expansion of Dufferin Terrace and construction of the Château Frontenac.

20th-century progress on the heritage front  

In 1928 another step forward was taken with the creation of the city’s urban planning and conservation commission, tasked with preserving the architectural integrity of Québec’s historic district. At times the commission was powerless to deal with proponents of urban progress, but it would nonetheless play a decisive role in raising awareness of and safeguarding the city’s heritage value, one that would pay off in the long run.

In the 1960s the Québec government created the Historic District of Old Québec as part of a coordinated project to protect and enhance the old city. It established rules whereby vestiges of the French Regime would have to be preserved with a view to highlighting Québec’s role as the cradle of French civilization in North America. The extensive work on Place-Royale would be one of the landmark achievements of the policy.

General Secretariat located in Québec City

After Old Québec was inscribed on the World Heritage list, then-mayor Jean-Paul L’Allier suggested that Québec City host an international symposium bringing together representatives of the other World Heritage cities to discuss common challenges. The meeting led to the creation of the Organization of World Heritage Cities in 1993 in Fez, Morocco. The organization’s General Secretariat has been headquartered in Québec City ever since.

Partagez cette page :

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.

Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Patrimoine

Accueil > Culture et patrimoine > Patrimoine > Interprétation > Découvrir Québec > Vieux-Québec > Points d'intérêt > Monument de l’UNESCO

Monument de l’UNESCO

Le Vieux-Québec et le patrimoine mondial

Ce monument commémore l’inscription de l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec sur la prestigieuse liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1985. Québec a été la première ville en Amérique du Nord à y figurer. Cette nomination couronnait les multiples efforts de sauvegarde et de mise en valeur du quartier remontant au 19e siècle. Contrairement à l’idée répandue, la ville de Québec ne doit pas cette désignation à ses seules fortifications.

Une reconnaissance internationale

Le 3 décembre 1985, le Comité du patrimoine mondial de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) accepte d’inscrire le Vieux-Québec sur sa liste du patrimoine mondial. Cette liste recense les biens culturels et les trésors naturels du monde entier dont la valeur est jugée inestimable pour l’humanité. En 2012, quelque 240 villes à travers le globe partagent cette distinction.

Un patrimoine matériel et immatériel

La désignation de Québec repose sur deux critères principaux, l’un matériel, l’autre immatériel. La ville doit d’abord sa nomination à la cohérence de son patrimoine bâti et à son degré remarquable de préservation. Grâce à son architecture d’inspiration française, puis britannique, et à ses fortifications quasi intactes, le Vieux-Québec constitue l’exemple le mieux conservé et le plus complet d’une ville coloniale fortifiée sur le continent nord-américain, au nord du Mexique.

Le second critère a trait à l’histoire de Québec et à sa culture. L’UNESCO a reconnu que Québec constitue le berceau de la civilisation française en Amérique du Nord et qu’elle représente l’une des grandes étapes de la colonisation du Nouveau Monde par les Européens.

Une préoccupation de longue date

Le premier projet visant la conservation et la mise en valeur du Vieux-Québec remonte à la seconde moitié du 19e siècle. Québec séduit déjà les touristes lorsque lord Dufferin, nommé gouverneur général du Canada en 1872, met un frein à la démolition des fortifications dès qu’il découvre Québec, estimant qu’elles sont essentielles au charme de la ville. Il a cependant la clairvoyance de proposer un plan d’embellissement de ces fortifications, qui permettra en même temps d’améliorer la circulation urbaine, un point que les autorités municipales jugent tout aussi essentiel.

À la même époque, plusieurs autres projets d’embellissement du Vieux-Québec accroîtront son attrait et sa valeur patrimoniale, tels que l’agrandissement de la terrasse Dufferin et la construction du Château Frontenac.

Les interventions du 20e siècle

En 1928, un nouveau pas est franchi avec la création de la Commission d’urbanisme et de conservation de Québec, qui a pour objectif de préserver le patrimoine architectural du secteur historique de la ville. Cette commission s’avérera parfois impuissante face à certains promoteurs, mais elle jouera un rôle déterminant de conscientisation et de mise en valeur qui portera ses fruits à long terme.

Dans les années 1960, le gouvernement du Québec conçoit un programme concerté de réaménagement du secteur historique de Québec. Il crée l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec et le dote d’une orientation claire : les projets de restauration devront privilégier la période du Régime français, afin de souligner le rôle de Québec comme berceau de l’Amérique française. Le vaste chantier de reconstruction-rénovation de Place-Royale sera l’une des réalisations marquantes liées à cette politique.

Le Secrétariat général à Québec

À la suite de l’inscription du Vieux-Québec sur la liste du patrimoine mondial, le maire de l’époque, Jean-Paul L’Allier, suggère de tenir à Québec un colloque international regroupant les autres villes du patrimoine mondial pour discuter de leurs défis communs. La rencontre mènera à la création de l’Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial en 1993, à Fès, au Maroc. Depuis, le Secrétariat général de cet organisme est situé à Québec.

Partagez cette page :

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.