Home > Tourists > See the City > Attractions > Other Places of Interest

|
Print
|
Text size Text size

Other Places of Interest

Aquarium du Québec

The only facility of its kind in Québec, Aquarium—which spreads out over 16 hectares—is designed to take visitors to the heart of the St. Lawrence and other Canadian marine ecosystems to discover the plants and animals of the North. This amazing journey to the North Pole is a unique opportunity to observe nearly 10,000 salt and fresh water fish, reptile, amphibian, invertebrate, and marine mammal species such as Atlantic and Pacific walruses, seals, and polar bears.

1675, avenue des Hôtels
www.sepaq.com/paq/en/

Château Frontenac

Perched atop Cap Diamant, the immense, striking Château Frontenac appears to look down defiantly upon the St. Lawrence River below. Erected over a series of seven stages beginning in 1892, the building brings to mind the château-style hotels built by Canadian railroad companies toward the end of the 19th century. Recognized worldwide for its charm, the Château is also becoming known for the quality of its cuisine.

1, rue des Carrières
www.fairmont.com

Corridor des Cheminots

This 22 km (or 44 km round-trip) bike and recreation path runs from the La Cité-Limoilou borough to the western part of the La Haute-Saint-Charles borough. It offers scenic landscapes for cyclists, pedestrians, and rollerbladers. The path crosses the boroughs of La Cité-Limoilou, Charlesbourg, and Des Rivières, as well as the Wendake village and the Borough of La Haute-Saint-Charles.

Corridor du Littoral

Located right next to the river, the stunning Corridor du Littoral stretches out over 50 km between the city of Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures and Montmorency Falls. The path, which was designed to marry recreational and tourist pursuits, is equally fun on foot or rollerblades, or by wheelchair or bike.

Observatoire de la Capitale

Located at a height of 221 meters, the highest point in the city, the immense glass panels of Observatoire de la Capitale afford a view of Québec City and area, thus revealing four centuries of history through geography, nature, and architecture.

1037, De La Chevrotière, 31e étage
www.observatoirecapitale.org

Parliament Building

A standout amongst Québec’s political heritage buildings, Hôtel du Parlement (built in 1886) is one of North America’s oldest parliamentary institutions. The building’s fascinating Second Empire–style architecture is a testament to the province’s political history, and it houses an impressive collection of works. The multimedia display entitled Le Québec, ses députés, ses regions (Québec, its MNAs, and its regions) explains the inner workings of the National Assembly, which is where the province’s 125 members sit.

1045, rue des Parlementaires
www.assnat.qc.ca

Place D'Youville

Place D’Youville is the heart of the city’s action. In winter, ice skaters whirl around to lively music on its outdoor rink. Place D’Youville is the location of choice for winter Carnaval and summer Festival events. It’s also a favorite spot for street performers.  

West of St. John’s Gate, in front of Palais Montcalm

Place Royale

Samuel de Champlain (Québec’s founder) built his first home at Place Royale in 1608. In 1686, a bust of King Louis XIV was erected, and the site was given the name it still carries today. Two years later, Champlain’s house was torn down and Église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires was built in its place.

The site has remained a landmark throughout the province’s evolution. As the first permanent settlement in New France, Place Royale hummed with the hustle and bustle of rich merchants under the French Regime. In 1690, the French used onsite cannons to defeat English Admiral Phipps’ fleet. Following the 1760 Conquest, Place Royale returned to its commercial roots. Today, it is surrounded by businesses, restaurants, and interpretation centers that bring its rich history to life.

27, rue Notre-Dame

Promenade Samuel-De Champlain

The provincial government’s foremost 400th anniversary gift to Québec City, Promenade Samuel-De Champlain extends nearly 2.5 km along the St. Lawrence River.

Located between Côte Ross and Côte Sillery, the Promenade boasts new and exciting views of Québec City’s coastline and is open to pedestrians, cyclists, rollerblade enthusiasts, and vehicles.

The Promenade offers interpretive stations where visitors can learn about its surroundings in four unique settings with modern facilities that highlight the area’s rich history.

Boulevard Champlain
www.capitale.gouv.qc.ca/realisations/promenade-samuel-champlain

Additional Information

For more information on tourist attractions in Québec City and its surrounding areas, visit the Québec City Tourism website.

Top
Site administration

Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Accueil > Touristes > Attraits > Autres endroits d'intérêt

Autres endroits d'intérêt

Aquarium du Québec

Unique au Québec, ce site d’une superficie de 16 hectares transporte ses visiteurs au cœur des écosystèmes du Saint-Laurent et des eaux canadiennes, pour leur faire découvrir la faune et la flore nordiques. Cet époustouflant périple jusqu’au pôle Nord offre la chance d’observer près de 10 000 spécimens de poissons d’eau douce et d’eau salée, de reptiles, d’amphibiens, d’invertébrés ainsi que de mammifères marins dont les morses de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique, les phoques et les ours blancs.

1675, avenue des HôtelsCarte interactive

www.sepaq.com

Centre Vidéotron

Bâtiment au design épuré, à la fine pointe de la technologie, l’amphithéâtre multifonctionnel de Québec a été inauguré en grande pompe en septembre 2015. Au cours des prochains mois et des prochaines années, le Centre Vidéotron sera le lieu privilégié de grands événements qui marqueront l’histoire de Québec.

Consultez la section Centre Vidéotron

Château Frontenac

Perché sur le cap Diamant, le château Frontenac semble mettre le fleuve Saint-Laurent au défi tant sa présence, immense, marque le paysage. Construit en sept étapes à partir de 1892, le bâtiment renvoie à ces hôtels de style château érigés par les compagnies ferroviaires canadiennes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Si son charme est connu de par le monde, le raffinement de sa gastronomie vient, lui, asseoir cette renommée.

1, rue des CarrièresCarte interactive

www.fairmont.fr

Corridor des Cheminots

Parcourant 22 kilomètres (44 kilomètres aller-retour), de l'arrondissement de La Cité-Limoilou jusqu'à l'ouest de l'arrondissement de La Haute-Saint-Charles, le corridor des Cheminots offre ses paysages pittoresques aux cyclistes, aux piétons et aux amateurs de patin à roulettes. Il traverse les arrondissements de La-Cité-Limoilou, de Charlesbourg et des Rivières, le village de Wendake ainsi que l'arrondissement de La Haute-Saint-Charles.

Corridor du Littoral

Situé en bordure du fleuve ou encore tout près de celui-ci, le corridor du Littoral s'étend sur 50 kilomètres entre la ville de Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures et la chute Montmorency. Il donne à voir aux gens qui l'empruntent un décor à couper le souffle. La piste récréotouristique a été conçue pour la marche ainsi que pour les randonnées en fauteuil roulant, en vélo et en patins à roulettes.

Hôtel du Parlement

Joyau du patrimoine politique québécois, datant de 1886, l’hôtel du Parlement figure parmi les plus anciennes institutions parlementaires d’Amérique. C’est là que siègent les 125 députés. Ce bâtiment à l’architecture remarquable de style Second Empire témoigne éloquemment de l’histoire du Québec, en plus d’abriter des œuvres d’une grande richesse. L’exposition multimédia Le Québec, ses députés, ses régions permet aux visiteurs de découvrir le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée nationale.

1045, rue des ParlementairesCarte interactive

www.assnat.qc.ca

Observatoire de la Capitale

Situé à 221 mètres d'altitude, ce qui en fait le plus haut sommet de la ville, l'Observatoire de la Capitale donne à voir, par ses immenses baies vitrées, Québec et sa région. Ainsi se révèlent quatre siècles d'histoire à travers la géographie, la nature et l'architecture.

1037, De La Chevrotière, 31e étageCarte interactive

www.observatoire-capitale.com

Place D'Youville

La place D'Youville s'inscrit dans la ville comme un centre névralgique. En hiver, des musiques entraînantes font tournoyer les patineurs sur la surface de glace qui y est aménagée. L'endroit accueille également des spectacles dans le cadre du Carnaval d'hiver et du Festival d'été notamment. La place D'Youville est le lieu de prédilection des amuseurs publics.

À l'ouest de la porte Saint-Jean, en face du palais MontcalmCarte interactive

Place Royale

C'est à la place Royale que Samuel de Champlain a construit sa première habitation en 1608. En 1686, année où y est érigé un buste du roi Louis XIV, l'endroit prend le nom qu'on lui connaît aujourd'hui. Quant au bâtiment édifié par le fondateur de Québec, il sera démoli en 1688 pour être remplacé par l'église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires.

Dans l'évolution du Québec, l'emplacement revêt une importance considérable. Premier établissement permanent en Nouvelle-France, la place Royale bourdonnera, sous le Régime français, d'activités liées à la présence de riches marchands. En 1690, les Français repoussent la flotte de l'amiral anglais Phipps grâce aux canons qui y sont installés. Après la Conquête de 1760, elle reprendra peu à peu son rôle commercial. Aujourd'hui, la place Royale regroupe autour d'elle des commerces, des restaurants et des centres relatant son histoire.

27, rue Notre-DameCarte interactive

Promenade Samuel-De Champlain

Principal legs du gouvernement provincial à la ville de Québec pour son 400e anniversaire, la promenade Samuel-De Champlain longe le fleuve sur près de deux kilomètres et demi.

Située entre la côte Ross et la côte de Sillery, la promenade offre aux piétons, cyclistes, adeptes de patin à roulettes et automobilistes de nouvelles perspectives sur le splendide littoral de Québec.

La promenade propose une interprétation des lieux qu’elle occupe en quatre atmosphères bien distinctes, dans lesquelles les aménagements contemporains font revivre la riche histoire de l’endroit.

Boulevard ChamplainCarte interactive

www.capitale.gouv.qc.ca/realisations/promenade-samuel-champlain

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour plus de renseignements sur les attraits touristiques de Québec et sa région, veuillez consulter le site Internet de l’Office du tourisme de Québec.

Partagez cette page :

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.