0
  • A CITY OF HISTORY AND CULTURE
    Québec City is part of the treasured heritage of the world, embracing past and present as it builds toward the future.

A 2025 VISION FOR CULTURE

A 2025 VISION FOR CULTURE

One of the objectives of Québec City’s cultural policy is to leverage culture as a driver of economic development. This is clearly set forth in its 2025 Cultural Development Vision. It’s a clear statement of the City’s artistic and cultural development aims both a frame of reference and a basis for collective endeavour, and a vision strongly committed to culture as an aspect of quality of life. It also responds to the professional arts and culture community’s desire to make fuller use of its creative potential.

HERITAGE: PROTECTING THE SOUL OF THE CITY

HERITAGE: PROTECTING THE SOUL OF THE CITY

Québec was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List in 1985, recognizing its status as part of the birthright and legacy of all humanity. There were good reasons to put Québec’s Old City on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. The first is right there in the stones of the city walls: it’s a remarkable and well-preserved example of a fortified colonial town. Québec is the only city in North America whose fortifications are virtually all intact. Another is its language: Québec is where French civilization began in North America, and it’s remained home to a francophone culture continuously since the 17th century. Québec City has put an accent on Amérique that truly sets it apart.

CULTURE TAKES THE LEAD

CULTURE TAKES THE LEAD

Québec City is a hotbed of creativity and source of inspiration for a multitude of artists thrilled to be putting their talents to work in this fertile and exciting milieu. Culture is expressed in a kaleidoscope of forms—visual arts, media arts, theatre, dance, music, and literature are all thriving. This manna for the soul of the city is built on a rich array of organizations and places to learn, study, produce, perform, and exhibit that have made Québec City a creative powerhouse.

THE PUBLIC LIBRARY WHERE WORDS TAKE FLIGHT

THE PUBLIC LIBRARY WHERE WORDS TAKE FLIGHT

So runs the Québec City Public Library’s proclamation of faith. The municipal library system—Bibliothèque de Québec—is a custodian and repository of language and culture with 24 branches scattered throughout the city. It’s a place of discovery for everyone, with activities and events that help make Québec City a bright centre of literature. The Library is the frontline gateway to knowledge, information, and local and worldwide cultural life. As such, it must find a way to work its way physically and virtually into the life of every generation. It’s much more than a collection of books. Every visit is an adventure.

THE FRANCOPHONE AND FRANCOPHILE CITIES NETWORK

Le Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique

French language and culture is alive and well in North America. The 33 million North Americans who speak French are the proof. The Francophone and Francophile Cities Network gathers together the geographical, historic, and tourist attractions of the continent’s leading cities of French heritage on a single platform. Plans are in the works for member cities to create circuits and tour itineraries for travellers from all over the world.

0
  • VILLE PATRIMONIALE
    Québec conjugue son passé au présent pour construire son futur

Vision Culture 2025

Vision Culture 2025

Faire de la culture un axe majeur de développement économique, voilà un des objectifs de Québec. La Ville l’a affirmé clairement en adoptant sa Vision du développement culturel 2025. Elle y expose ses intentions relativement au développement des arts et de la culture sur son territoire. À la fois cadre de référence et outil de concertation, cette vision confirme l’effet de la culture sur la qualité de vie de la population. Elle répond aussi au désir du milieu professionnel d’exploiter plus à fond son potentiel de création.

Le patrimoine, une âme à protéger

Le patrimoine, une âme à protéger

Québec est l’une des villes les plus visitées au monde et le Vieux-Québec y est pour beaucoup. Inscrit en 1985 sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, ce site patrimonial déclaré fait désormais partie de l’héritage de l’humanité. Québec est la seule ville en Amérique du Nord dont toutes les fortifications sont pratiquement intactes. Considérée comme le berceau de la civilisation française en Amérique, Québec abrite une culture francophone de façon continue depuis le 17e siècle. Un accent d’Amérique qui permet à la capitale de se distinguer. Née en 1608 au pied du cap Diamant, Québec a su conserver les principales caractéristiques de son paysage et de son passé.

La culture en tête

La culture en tête

Foyer de création et source d’inspiration, Québec compte une multitude d’artistes ravis de mettre leur talent à profit dans un environnement stimulant. Arts visuels, médiatiques et littéraires, théâtre, danse, musique : la culture s’incarne de diverses manières, toutes riches et effervescentes. Cette opulence qui donne un supplément d’âme à la ville repose beaucoup sur les nombreux organismes et centres de formation, de production et de diffusion qui font de Québec un lieu de prédilection pour créer.

La Bibliothèque de Québec : là où les mots brillent

La Bibliothèque de Québec : là où les mots brillent

Lieu privilégié de préservation de la langue et de la culture, la Bibliothèque de Québec compte 24 bibliothèques réparties sur l’ensemble du territoire de la ville. Espace de découvertes pour tous, ce réseau confirme Québec dans son rôle de capitale littéraire avec ses activités et événements rassembleurs. Porte d’entrée sur le savoir, l’information et la vie culturelle d’ici et d’ailleurs, la Bibliothèque de Québec veut s’intégrer physiquement et virtuellement au mode de vie des citoyens de toutes générations. Bien plus qu’une réserve de livres, elle offre une expérience à chaque visite.

Le Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique

Le Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique

La francophonie est bien vivante en Amérique! Les 33 millions de personnes qui y parlent le français le prouvent. Le Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique rassemble sur une même plateforme les attraits touristiques, géographiques et historiques de villes phares de la francophonie de notre grand continent. À terme, l’alliance de toutes les villes membres permettra de créer des circuits touristiques destinés aux voyageurs du monde entier.