• A CITY OF BEAUTY
    We make cold winters warm.

DEVELOPING HARMONIOUSLY

DEVELOPING HARMONIOUSLY

The City of Québec’s approach to development is respectful of its heritage, history, and environment as well as its human dimension. It set down a vision for sustainable development in 2010 and continues to pursue environmental responsibility through green space protection, active transportation programs, and more. Special planning programs including ecodistricts, green construction, and revitalization initiatives are in the works to shape development for years to come.

BURSTING WITH LIFE, SUMMER AND WINTER

BURSTING WITH LIFE, SUMMER AND WINTER

Québec City spends four months each year under a blanket of snow—on average 316 cm of it. That means doing some shovelling, brushing off the car, and dressing for the cold. But so what! People here don’t let winter cramp their style. For them, snow is more about mountains of outdoor fun, whether on skis, snowshoes, toboggans, or skates. Summer’s warmth brings a dramatic transformation, as streets and public squares blossom with new life—and with festivals and celebrations. Spring fills the sidewalk cafés the moment the sun grows strong enough to thaw out a frozen nose. And don’t forget the fall, revelling in its poetic gifts, painting the trees and surrounding mountains in a riotous palette of yellows, reds, and oranges.

THE URBAN GOOD LIFE

THE URBAN GOOD LIFE

Québec City’s quality of life is something to enjoy every day. People here take advantage of big city living that’s close to nature, enjoying the city’s special character, reasonable cost of living, an array of services, and safe environment. Québec City is less expensive than most big cities in North America. The inflation rate is low, and Québec outperforms most other urban centres in Canada for cost of living. This considerable advantage is heightened by the city’s high quality public and private healthcare system. Such services add to the overall well-being of the population.

ENVIRONMENT: TO SERVE AND PROTECT

ENVIRONMENT: TO SERVE AND PROTECT

Québec City has mountains on one side and the St. Lawrence River on the other, with a band of forest and farmland around it covering over 55% of its territory. A number of rivers and streams run through the city, which is dotted with parks, green space, woods, and wetlands. The St. Lawrence is a defining feature of the city, and its benefits and potential uses are practically unlimited. The future depends on harmony with this environment, and the City is therefore very active in water protection and conservation, with programs for wetlands, riparian strips, drinking water sources, sensitive ecosystems, and wildlife habitats.

STEPPING BACK TO GROW BETTER

STEPPING BACK TO GROW BETTER

Québec City is growing and changing. It’s a city on the move, attracting families, young couples and immigrants. The planning for an expected 60,000 new households by 2040 will use transit-oriented development and “soft intensification” to put the brakes on sprawl. Major redevelopments are in the works for a number of key urban areas in the coming years aimed at boosting residents’ quality of life and enhancing mobility. The city will be even better for it!

• VILLE ATTRAYANTE
    Chez-nous, on sait comment rendre nos hivers chauds

Un développement harmonieux

Un développement harmonieux

La Ville de Québec souhaite développer son territoire dans le respect de son caractère patrimonial, historique, naturel et de sa dimension humaine. Après s’être dotée d’une vision pour le développement durable en 2010, elle poursuit ses efforts pour devenir une ville écoresponsable, protéger ses espaces verts et valoriser les modes de transport actifs. Les programmes particuliers d’urbanisme, les écoquartiers, la construction verte et la revitalisation de certains secteurs sont autant de projets structurants pour les années à venir.

Pleine de vie, en toute saison

Pleine de vie, en toute saison

Quatre mois par année, Québec vit au rythme de l’hiver, recevant en moyenne 316 cm de neige. Il faut pelleter, déneiger sa voiture, affronter le froid... Et alors? Bons vivants, les résidants voient surtout dans la blanche saison l’occasion de pratiquer de nombreuses activités extérieures comme le ski de fond, la raquette, la traîne sauvage ou le patin. L’été et sa chaleur engendrent une ambiance complètement différente, alors que les rues et les places publiques colorées de fleurs vibrent au rythme des fêtes et des festivals. Au printemps, les terrasses se remplissent au moindre rayon de soleil capable de réchauffer un nez rougi.

Bien vivre en ville

Bien vivre en ville

À Québec, la qualité de vie s’apprécie au quotidien. Un pied en ville, l’autre dans la nature, chaque résidant profite tous les jours d’un cachet exceptionnel, d’un coût de la vie accessible, de services multiples et d’un environnement sécuritaire. Vivre dans la capitale coûte moins cher que dans la plupart des grandes villes nord-américaines. En raison de son inflation maîtrisée, la capitale s’inscrit parmi les villes canadiennes les plus performantes en ce qui a trait au coût de la vie. À ces avantages de taille s’ajoute un réseau de santé public et privé offrant des soins de qualité. De tels services contribuent au bien-être général de la population.

Environnement : mission protection

Environnement : mission protection

Située entre fleuve et montagnes, Québec est ceinturée par une couronne agricole et forestière couvrant plus de 55 % de son territoire. Plusieurs cours d’eau sillonnent la ville, qui est parsemée de parcs, d’espaces verts, de boisés urbains et de milieux humides. Le fleuve Saint-Laurent, l’un des atouts majeurs de la capitale, offre de multiples avantages et possibilités. La Ville sait que l’avenir passe par l’harmonie avec le milieu. C’est pourquoi elle veille à la protection et à la conservation des plans d’eau, des bandes riveraines, des milieux humides, des sources d’approvisionnement en eau, des écosystèmes sensibles et des habitats fauniques.

Réfléchir pour mieux grandir

Réfléchir pour mieux grandir

Québec se développe, elle change, elle bouge. Ses multiples facettes attirent des familles, de jeunes couples, des immigrants. Pour accueillir les 60 000 nouveaux ménages attendus d’ici 2040, la Ville planifie son développement en misant sur un réseau de transport structurant et sur une densification douce, afin de limiter l’étalement urbain. Dans les prochaines années, plusieurs secteurs névralgiques de Québec feront l’objet de réfections majeures visant à améliorer la qualité de vie des citoyens et à faciliter les déplacements. Québec n’en sera que plus attractive!