Skip to main content

Home / About / City Hall / Agglomeration Council

City Hall

Agglomeration Council

January 1, 2006, marked the rebirth of the cities of L’Ancienne-Lorette and Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures. By virtue of the Act Respecting the Exercise of Certain Municipal Powers in Certain Urban Agglomerations, the Québec City agglomeration, composed of the City of Québec and the two reconstituted municipalities, was created that same day.

This new law has led to certain jurisdictions being shared between the three cities and certain others becoming exclusive local responsibilities, namely local services.


The Agglomeration Council is made up as follows:

  • M. Sylvain Juneau, Mayor of Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures
  • M. Régis Labeaume, Mayor of Québec City
  • M. Émile Loranger, Mayor of L’Ancienne-Lorette
  • M. Steeve Verret, Québec City Councillor
  • M. Jonatan Julien, Québec City Councillor
  • Ms Michelle Morin-Doyle, Québec City Councillor
  • M. Rémy Normand, Québec City Councillor
  • Ms Marie-Josée Savard, Québec City Councillor
  • Ms Émilie Villeneuve, Québec City Councillor



The agglomeration council is responsible for decisions in the following areas:

  • Realty assessment
  • Public transportation
  • Road maintenance on agglomeration thoroughfares
  • Water supply
  • Water purification
  • Elimination and reclamation of waste matter
  • Monitoring and development of municipal waterways
  • Economic development
  • Social housing and aid for the homeless
  • Drug addiction and prostitution prevention
  • Public safety (Police Department, Fire Department, Civil Security Office, 9-1-1 emergency call center, municipal court)


For their part, the municipal councils and borough councils are responsible for the following:

  • Adopting and implementing master plans, adopting bylaws, and processing spot zoning applications
  • Issuing construction and renovation permits
  • Building and maintaining local aqueduct and sewer conduits
  • Collecting and transporting waste.
  • Maintaining and clearing local roadways
  • Building, maintaining, and managing sports and cultural facilities, libraries, and parks (not including shared facilities and equipment)

Expense sharing

City of Québec tax notices indicate which portion is set aside for expenses shared by all three cities and how much goes toward local services.

Taxpayers from L’Ancienne-Lorette and Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures receive two tax notices.

Additional Information

To confirm that a meeting will take place: 418 641-6010