Skip to main content

Home / About / City Hall / City Council

City Hall

City Council

The City Council is made up of a mayor elected by universal suffrage and 21 councillors, each representing an electoral district.


The city council is the City’s legislative body. It adopts budgets and allocates funds required for managing the city and boroughs.

The city council adopts municipal by-laws, authorizes loans, creates various departments, and defines their roles. It votes on all reports submitted by the executive committee. It can order the executive committee to produce reports on any issues concerning administration of the City.


Legislation regarding council meetings can be found in the document entitled Règlement sur la régie interne et la procédure d’assemblée du conseil de la ville (in French only) which stipulates that meetings generally take place at City Hall (2, rue des Jardins) on the first and third Monday of every month at 5:00 p.m.

Meetings are led by a chairperson. Anyone can attend. A question period is set aside for the public at the beginning and end of each meeting.

The City of Québec offers free parking or bus travel to anyone wishing to attend council meetings.


City council meetings are broadcast live on MATV from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and repeated starting at 11:00 p.m.

Additional Information

To confirm that a meeting will take place: 418 641-6010