Home / Citizens / Heritage / Saint-Jean-Baptiste / Points of interest / The former Jeffery Hale Hospital

Heritage

The former Jeffery Hale Hospital

The former Jeffery Hale Hospital, a harmonious whole

A harmonious whole

The two stately red-brick buildings across from Grand Théâtre, set slightly back from Boulevard René-Lévesque, began their life as a hospital. Their architectural excellence and design are emblematic of the substantial resources and independent spirit of Québec City’s then-thriving Anglo-Protestant community. The buildings are a reminder of the legacy this community left behind.

Anglo-Protestant philanthropists

The hospital’s two elegant main buildings to the west are today part of the residential complex at 270–350 Boulevard René-Lévesque and classified as a cultural heritage site by the Québec government. They were built between 1900 and 1906 to house the Jeffery Hale Hospital.

The hospital was named after its patron, Jeffery Hale, a wealthy merchant who made a substantial bequest in 1864. It opened in 1867 on Rue Saint-Olivier, close to the walls in Old Québec. But by the late 19th century the hospital had outgrown its building and was no longer keeping pace with modern medical practices. Other philanthropists from Québec City’s wealthy English-speaking community, including William Price, James Gibb, and Elizabeth McKenzie, dipped into their personal fortunes to help fund a new hospital.

The project to improve hospital care for the Anglo-Protestant community began in earnest in 1895 when the Jeffery Hale Corporation purchased a huge plot of land on the outskirts of the city from the Augustinians at Hôtel-Dieu. One hundred years earlier the military had built Martello Tower No. 3 there, but it had fallen into disuse and was demolished in 1904.

A pavilion hospital

One reason Jeffery Hale was so modern in its time, and holds such heritage value today, is its pavilion design. It featured multiple buildings to separate patients based on how contagious they were, a response to the discovery that diseases were transmitted through germs and microbes. The design also reflected increasing specialization within the medical profession. A covered passage once linked the two buildings. A third building reserved for tuberculosis patients—The Douglas Building—has been demolished along with the boiler house, but the old nurses’ residence still stands behind the main buildings. The buildings have been generally well maintained.

Another distinctive feature of the Jeffery Hale Hospital is its location, set back from the road and surrounded by landscaped grounds.

Remarkable architecture

The buildings’ heritage status is justified by its outstanding architecture. The plans were drawn by two Montréal architects: Arthur Cox and Louis-Auguste Amos. The main pavilion, on the west side to the left, was built in the neo-Queen Anne style in 1900-1901. The decorative brickwork, colour scheme, Dutch-style dormer windows, and pyramid-roofed towers lend the building a touch of class and strong personality. The McKenzie Memorial Building to its right, with three stories and an imposing dome, is even more impressive. It was built between 1904 and 1906, and adds a neo-Baroque feel with its central columned avant-corps topped with a pediment and flanked by towers crowned by small domes. Thanks to their similar size, composition, and materials, the hospital’s two pavilions form a harmonious whole, and remain a Québec City architectural highlight to this day.

New uses

By the late 1940s the buildings had themselves been rendered obsolete by new advances in medical science. A new Jeffery Hale Hospital was built in the Saint-Sacrement neighbourhood and opened its doors in 1955. Québec’s public works ministry acquired the old buildings to house the offices of the provincial police force, Sûreté du Québec. Until 1979 the provincial morgue occupied the former St. Barnabas Chapel behind the main pavilion. Then the premises were sold to Société d’habitation du Québec, whose residential development was a perfect fit for the heritage buildings.

Related media

Old pictures

Accueil / Citoyens / Patrimoine / Découvrir les quartiers de Québec / Saint-Jean-Baptiste / Points d'intérêt / Ancien hôpital Jeffery Hale

Saint-Jean-Baptiste

Ancien hôpital Jeffery Hale

Ancien hôpital Jeffery Hale

Un ensemble remarquable

Les deux nobles bâtiments de brique rouge qui font face au Grand Théâtre de Québec, un peu en retrait du boulevard René-Lévesque, ont d’abord servi d’hôpital. Leur qualité architecturale et le concept qui a présidé à leur construction témoignent des ressources substantielles, du dynamisme et de la culture propres à la communauté anglo-protestante de Québec. Ils rappellent l’importance de l’héritage qu’elle a légué à Québec.

Des philanthropes anglo-protestants

Le complexe résidentiel des nos 270-350 René-Lévesque comprend deux bâtiments classés patrimoine culturel par le gouvernement du Québec. Ces deux élégants édifices, situés du côté ouest du complexe, ont été construits entre 1900 et 1906 pour abriter l’hôpital Jeffery-Hale.

Cet établissement nommé en l’honneur du riche marchand Jeffery Hale, qui a légué par testament une importante somme d’argent à cette fin, en 1864, est d’abord implanté rue Saint-Olivier, tout près des remparts entourant le Vieux-Québec, en 1867. À la fin du 19e siècle, cependant, il est devenu trop exigu et ne répond plus aux normes de la médecine moderne. Quelques autres philanthropes de la riche communauté anglophone de Québec, tels William Price, James Gibb et Elizabeth McKenzie, prennent alors le relais et puisent dans leur fortune les sommes nécessaires à la construction d’un nouvel hôpital.

Le projet de renouvellement des services hospitaliers destinés à la communauté anglo-protestante prend forme en 1895 lorsque la Corporation du Jeffery-Hale achète aux Augustines de l’Hôtel-Dieu ce vaste terrain situé en périphérie de la ville. Cent ans plus tôt, les militaires y avaient construit la tour Martello no 3, mais, devenue inutile, elle sera démolie en 1904.

Un hôpital pavillonnaire

L’une des caractéristiques « modernes » du nouvel hôpital, qui ajoute aujourd’hui à sa valeur patrimoniale, est sa conception pavillonnaire. Il était en effet composé de bâtiments distincts qui servaient à séparer les malades plus ou moins contagieux les uns des autres, après la découverte de la transmission des maladies par germes et microbes. Cette division s’inscrit aussi dans un mouvement de spécialisation de la médecine. Un passage couvert aujourd’hui disparu reliait les deux bâtiments. Un troisième édifice, le Douglas Building, réservé aux tuberculeux, a été démoli, ainsi que la chaufferie, mais l’ancienne résidence des infirmières existe toujours, à l’arrière des pavillons, et l’ensemble est donc bien préservé.

Une autre caractéristique d’origine de cet hôpital est son emplacement sur un vaste terrain agrémenté d’un aménagement paysager, en retrait de la voie de circulation.

Une architecture remarquable

La qualité architecturale de ces bâtiments explique principalement leur classement. Les architectes montréalais Alfred Arthur Cox et Louis-Auguste Amos en ont dressé les plans. Le pavillon principal situé du côté ouest, sur la gauche, érigé en 1900-1901, est d’influence néo-Queen Anne. L’usage décoratif de la brique, le jeu des couleurs, les lucarnes à la hollandaise et les tours à toit pyramidal lui confèrent de la classe et une forte personnalité. Le McKenzie Memorial Building, à sa droite, est encore plus impressionnant avec ses trois étages et son large dôme. Construit entre 1904 et 1906, il ajoute une touche néobaroque avec son avant-corps central à colonnes couronné d’un fronton, flanqué de tours coiffées de petits dômes. Ces deux pavillons, par leurs similitudes de volume, de composition et de matériaux, forment un ensemble harmonieux et constituent toujours un élément fort du paysage urbain dans ce secteur de la ville.

De nouvelles vocations

À la fin des années 1940, ces installations sont de nouveau rattrapées par les développements de la médecine et jugées désuètes. Un nouvel hôpital Jeffery-Hale est construit dans le quartier Saint-Sacrement et accueille ses premiers patients en 1955. Le ministère des Travaux publics du Québec acquiert alors les anciens bâtiments pour y loger les bureaux de la Sûreté du Québec. Jusqu’en 1979, la Morgue provinciale occupera l’ancienne chapelle dédiée à saint Barnabé, à l’arrière du pavillon principal. La Société d’habitation du Québec s’en porte ensuite acquéreur et y implante un ensemble résidentiel particulièrement bien intégré aux bâtiments patrimoniaux d’origine.

Contenus reliés au point d'intérêt

Images anciennes

Partagez cette page :